B.C. Archaeology

Study Tours of the Ancient World

LECTURES
Dr Michael Birrell will be giving the following lectures in 2021


ONLINE LECTURES


Hi - this is Michael Birrell, the owner/manager of BC Archaeology Travel. I'm an Australian archaeologist and historian who has travelled widely in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. I completed my PhD in 1999 and have excavated at many sites in Egypt and Israel. I've been teaching courses and giving lectures on archaeology and history since 1992.

I am going to teach the following Zoom courses in the coming months and hope you might find them of interest. I'm going to teach on Mondays (Classical World) and Wednesdays (Middle East) and in the 3-5pm Sydney time slot. I will be recording the lectures, so if you can’t actually attend certain lectures, I can always send you a link afterwards.


MONDAYS - CLASSICAL WORLD:

THE ETRUSCANS - a 4-week lecture series - A$110 incl GST
We examine the archaeology and history of the Etruscans in northern Italy. We explore the origins of these people, their material culture, religion, and funerary customs and the influence they had on the early Roman.
Etruscans I: Origins - Mon 15th Feb 3-5pm AEDT
Etruscans II: Daily life - Mon 22nd Feb 3-5pm AEDT
Etruscans III: Religion - Mon 1st Mar 3-5pm AEDT
Etruscans IV: Death and burial - Mon 8th Mar 3-5pm AEDT

POMPEII: THE BURIED CITY - a 4-week lecture series - A$110 incl GST
We examine the archaeology and history of the buried site of Pompeii in central Italy. We explore the origins of the city, the archaeology of the forum, houses and baths, the evidence for religion and burials, and the end of the city.
Pompeii I: History of the city - Mon 19th Apr 3-5pm AEST
Pompeii II: Forum, houses, baths - Mon 26th Apr 3-5pm AEST
Pompeii III: Religion and temples - Mon 3rd May 3-5pm AEST
Pompeii IV: Death, burial and AD 79 - Mon 10th May 3-5pm AEST

ANCIENT SICILY - a 4-week lecture series - A$110 incl GST
We examine the archaeology and history of ancient Sicily. We explore the geology and geography of the island and its prehistoric fauna, the arrival of colonists from Greece and Phoenicia, the development of cities in the classical age, and the island under Roman rule.
Sicily I: Prehistory - Mon 31st May 3-5pm AEST
Sicily II: Greek and Phoenician colonies - Mon 7th June 3-5pm AEST
Sicily III: The Classical period - Mon 14th June 3-5pm AEST
Sicily IV: Hellenistic and Roman - Mon 21st June 3-5pm AEST

AUGUSTUS: ROME'S FIRST EMPEROR - a 4-week lecture series - A$110 incl GST
We examine the life and times of Rome's first Emperor Augustus. We explore his origins and family background, his rise to power and conflict with Antony and Cleopatra. The course ends with Augustus's sole rule as Princeps when he established the future structure of the Roman Empire.
Augustus I: Gaius Octavius - Mon 12th July 3-5pm AEST
Augustus II: Philippi - Mon 19th July 3-5pm AEST
Augustus III: Actium - Mon 26th July 3-5pm AEST
Augustus IV: Princeps - Mon 2nd Aug 3-5pm AEST


WEDNESDAYS - THE NEAR EAST:

PETRA AND THE NABATAEANS - a 4-week lecture series - A$110 incl GST
We examine the history of the Nabataean Kingdom until its incorporation into the Roman Empire. We will explore the archaeology of Petra, its development and material culture.
Petra I: The origins of the Nabataeans - Wed 17th Feb 3-5pm AEDT
Petra II: The First Century BC - Wed 24th Feb 3-5pm AEDT
Petra III: The First Century AD - Wed 3rd Mar 3-5pm AEDT
Petra IV: The end of the Nabataean Kingdom - Wed 10th Mar 3-5pm AEDT

THE OASES OF EGYPT - a 4-week lecture series - A$110 incl GST
We examine the archaeology and history of the Oases of Egypt's Western Desert. We explore the geology and geography of the oases, their prehistory and the numerous archaeological remains down to Roman times. We also explore the early European exploration of this fascinating region.
Oases I: Kharga - Wed 21st Apr 3-5pm AEST
Oases II: Dakhleh - Wed 28th Apr 3-5pm AEST
Oases III: Farafra and Bahariya - Wed 5th May 3-5pm AEST
Oases IV: Siwa and the deep desert - Wed 12th May 3-5pm AEST

JERUSALEM: PREHISTORY TO CRUSADES - a 4-week lecture series - A$110 incl GST
We examine the archaeology and history of Jerusalem. We explore the early archaeological remains for the city, its development as the capital of Judah, the transformation of the city under its Seleucid and Roman rulers and the changes under Byzantine and Muslim rule.
Jerusalem I: Bronze Age - Wed 2nd June 3-5pm AEST
Jerusalem II: Iron Age - Wed 9th June 3-5pm AEST
Jerusalem III: Hellenistic and Roman - Wed 16th June 3-5pm AEST
Jerusalem IV: Medieval - Wed 23rd June 3-5pm AEST

RAMESSES THE GREAT - a 4-week lecture series - A$110 incl GST
We examine the history of the reign of Ramesses II, one of the greatest rulers of ancient times. We explore his youth and co-regency with his father Sety I, his accession to power, his battles including the Battle of Qadesh, his remarkable building program and the legacy of his long reign.
Ramesses I: Youth - Wed 14th July 3-5pm AEST
Ramesses II: Warrior - Wed 21st July 3-5pm AEST
Ramesses III: Builder - Wed 28th July 3-5pm AEST
Ramesses IV: Legacy - Wed 4th Aug 3-5pm AEST


The lectures will be held online using ZOOM. Lectures will start at 3pm and finish at 5pm (AEDT and AEST – Sydney time), with a short break in the middle. The cost of each series (4 lectures) is A$110 - this includes A$10 GST. Ideally you would send me an email (to info@bcarchaeology.com) with your name, address, phone number, and email address, and statement of which series you are interested in.

Payment (with name clearly stated) can be made either by direct deposit into our account: B.C. Archaeology, Westpac BSB 032082, account number 285359 or by cheque sent to ‘B.C. Archaeology’, PO Box 1236, Mittagong, NSW, 2575 (please include your name, address, phone number and email address with the cheque). After payment, a receipt will be mailed out, with meeting ID and password emailed to participants one day before each class.

CONTACT ME:
Phone: (+61) 0405 492946
Email: info@bcarchaeology.com or mbirrell@tpg.com.au